I’m not quite dead

I’ve been having a tough week and haven’t really managed to write anything. However, I did yell at Twitter a lot the other day about patriarchy and how it makes women crazy, and a friend Storifyed it here so maybe go check it out?

I’m still alive and still working on some stuff for the blog. However it’s big and time consuming and I’m running low on both time and bandwidth. Many apologies.


Sidebar: Ruined Empire – my social justice-y campaign setting and sourcebook inspired by Final Fantasy – is finally available for sale now that the books have shipped to KickStarter backers. You can get it in print here, or in PDF either on my PayHip store (which makes me the most money) or DriveThru RPG.

 

7 thoughts on “I’m not quite dead

  1. “Society places so many constraints on women, so many of them contradictory, and the consequences for violating them can be horrific.”

    It would be more correct to write “humans” instead of “women”. This way it appears men are excepted from society ewnforced self contradictory constrains

    “always put yourselves last. Don’t have feelings that inconvenience others.”

    Men are very well conditioned to act this way. Just check suicide statistics.

    • NO. JUST. NO.

      If I link to a highly personal rant where I talk about my personal experiences of patriarchy and mental illness, DO NOT come in and start with the “what about the men”.

      YES patriarchy harms men. But when a woman is talking about her ACTUAL LIVED EXPERIENCE, that is NOT the time to come in with “what about the men”. Because guess what, sunshine? However bad men have it, WOMEN HAVE IT WORSE. That’s why it’s called PATRIARCHY. Not to mention that the entire fucking point of that rant was how women are taught by patriarchy to be invisible and subservient to the needs of all men before being allowed to have anything for themselves, and you are coming onto my blog and telling me that wait – no. What we REALLY NEED TO BE TALKING ABOUT IS THE MEN.

  2. Referencing your source book: When you say “social justice-y” do you mean the characters will have to struggle with social justice-y struggles, or do you mean the setting has (at some point) in it’s past achieved most social justice aims and the conflict is over something else?

    • What I mean is that there are social justice issued baked into the setting (frex, human trafficking and imperialism), and depending which part of the setting you engage with the issues you deal with in character will be different.

Comments are closed.