Sentinels of the Multiverse: why you always need a woman in the room

[Disclaimer the First: I am going to primarily refer to women and sexism in this post, because this was inspired by a personal experience and that’s the angle that I approach this issue from.  However, you could very easily replace these terms with “trans/non-binary person and transphobia” or “PoC and racism”, and everything I’m saying here would still apply.]

[Disclaimer the Second: I’m going to pick on Sentinels of the Multiverse a lot in this post. It’s a fun game! I enjoyed it! I’d probably play it again! So please don’t interpret this as a scathing non-endorsement. This just happens to be a conveniently illustrative example.]

I recently got a chance to play Sentinels of the Multiverse for the first time, and it was pretty cool. Sentinels is a cooperative deck-based card game in which you play a group of superheroes attempting to defeat a supervillain while also dealing with environmental threats like fires or train derailments. It’s a well designed game that is focused pretty tightly on genre emulation, and it does a great job of it. Sentinels reproduces the feel of superhero comics pretty faithfully through its use of high-powered superhero combat, ridiculous backstories, and… bullshit sexist character design:

Wraith splash

That’s right, all of the female heroes in the base game are drawn with impossibly narrow torsos that leave no room for internal organs and impossibly perky sphere-boobs. Most of them have costumes that expose either cleavage, thighs, or midriff (the Visionary gets all three); though even the one exception (Fanatic) wears boobplate armor that allllmoooost shows cleavage, so even she doesn’t get a pass. The sexy costumes aren’t even “appropriate” to the character concepts! Wraith is a thinly veiled Batman clone, so what’s up with the swimsuit and bandages? Why can’t she have some goddamn armor? Expatriatte is a Punisher-analog who doesn’t have powers, she just has shit-tons of guns. And again, for someone who fights primarily with guns, wouldn’t body armor be more the ticket instead of spandex?

What’s more, Citizen Dawn (a villain) is supposed to be the mother of Expatriette, except you’d never be able to tell because there is no such thing as a woman in comics who appears to be older than mid twenties. Visionary is supposed to be 18 according to her backstory, but you’d never be able to tell from the art that Citizen Dawn isn’t her age!

Sadly, there wasn’t one of the female heroes that wasn’t awful to some degree, and I’m not going to lie: it definitely ruined my fun a little. I tend to want to play female heroes, so long as the female heroes don’t suck (I’m looking at you, 1st edition Descent). But in this instance I stuck to male heroes for the two games we played, since I was playing mostly with people I didn’t know so well and didn’t want to ruin everyone’s fun by harping endlessly about how bullshit some of the card art is.

An important sidebar about depictions of race:

While I said that I was going to focus on issues of sexism as seen through my experience as a woman, I would be remiss in not mentioning that there are some definitely problematic depictions of race in Sentinels as well:

haka-ra
LEFT: Haka, RIGHT: Ra

For example: Haka is a Hulk analog who is Maori. And that could have been cool? Except despite Sentinels being set in a modern timeline, there is some serious noble savage all up in Haka’s backstory. There’s also the problem that Haka’s powers come from his culture, whereas all of the white heroes’ power come from their backstories – which is exotifying and definitely not cool.

Ra, on the other hand, almost falls into the trap of “powers because culture”, except he narrowly avoids that trap by falling into a different trap. Turns out that Ra has actually been reborn on Earth… as a white dude from New Jersey. And look, Egyptian gods reborn as/portrayed by white people is really fucking common, but it’s also just plain shitty.

[end sidebar]

In reflecting on the game afterward, I was strongly reminded of exactly why it is that I came at superheroes through cartoons and not through comic books. I have a definite soft spot for superpowered hijinx, but even before I became a feminist I was never able to get past the feeling that comics were NOT FOR ME. Cartoons like Batman and X-Men may have had their problems, but at least there were female characters I could latch on to that weren’t depicted solely as titillating or objectified. Storm! Rogue! Poison Ivy! Harley Quinn! Their costumes might have been stupid, but they at least got to be people and not collections of sexy bits offered up to a (presumed) straight white male viewer.

And that sucks for a lot of reasons. It sucks that bullshit sexism is so ingrained in comic books that faithful reproduction of comics almost always comes with an equally faithful reproduction of the things that make comics so very problematic.

Worse, it sucks that I want to like superheroes, but most of the time I feel like I just can’t enjoy them the way my male comics friends do. Because well-done superhero stuff that doesn’t fuck up, or at least doesn’t fuck up too much? Oh man that’s just the best ever. Captain America 2 was the best! The new Ms. Marvel is pretty fucking great! And Avengers might not have passed the Bechdel test, but I’m Team Black Widow forever. Superheroes are great, and compelling, and just plain fun! And all I want, all I have ever wanted is to be able to like them as uncritically as my dude friends have always been able to. Because it’s hard to give something your entire heart when that thing won’t stop telling you that it’s just not for you.

But most of all, it sucks because looking at the art for this game and the character concepts, I get the feeling that the team behind Sentinels didn’t intend to make a game full of sexist art. Because yeah the female character designs suck, but the card art still shows them being heroes and not just broken-spined, dead-eyed assemblages of sexy parts of female anatomy. (Except for that one boobshot-with-no-face of Fanatic. Seriously, what were you thinking letting that one through?) To me, it feels like this was a case of there just not being any women[1] in the room.

Because that’s the problem with the vast gender imbalance in the gaming industry. When the people working in the industry on game design and development are overwhelmingly white and male, shit like this is going to happen without anyone ever thinking that maybe they should do something different. Sexist character design is so very, very entrenched across geekdom, and privilege keeps many male game developers and designers from even seeing that it’s there.

When sexism is the background radiation that pervades our lives, the people who benefit from sexism (men) often don’t notice that it’s even there. Even the most well-intentioned, enlightened, feminist-leaning dude is just plain going to miss shit. He doesn’t need to see it, after all, because it doesn’t affect him. Which is why it’s so very important for there to be women at the table during the process of game development[2]. Sometimes what you need is someone who can speak up and say, “wait, you get why that’s bullshit right?”

Let me tell you, I’ve had variations of this experience more times than I can count since starting this blog that can be summed up as a male friend being surprised when I complain about sexist art in a game because they hadn’t even noticed[3]. And then they admit that, shit, yeah – that thing they like is pretty sexist, and express some level of embarrassment that it needed to be pointed out to them. It sucks! (And not just for them, because let me tell you, I don’t enjoy being that person who craps on people’s fun[4].)

But not failing doesn’t have to be hard! Game design is not a solitary process – it takes time and an awful lot of eyeballs. So just make sure to include women and other not-white-het-cis people as some of those eyeballs, and make sure that they know you’ll take their feedback seriously. The wonderful thing about game design is that it is an iterative process! It’s impossible not to fuck up your first draft – but early designs are always a hot mess of bad writing and clunky design. If you make spotting -ism fails part of your design agenda, it is absolutely possible to make games that don’t punch girls in the feels and tell them they have cooties.

[1] Or n-b folk, or PoC, etc.

[2] They also need to have an environment where they feel safe and supported in speaking out against sexist design decisions, which is something many women in the games industry don’t have. But that’s a topic for another post.

[3] I don’t mean this as an indictment on you, dudes, promise. I’m getting better about spotting racist tropes, but I’m still pretty shit at spotting transphobic and ableist tropes. I’m trying, but it’s hard when that shit just doesn’t apply to me. (See how that works?)

[4] I’ve accidentally ruined Guardians of the Galaxy for a more than a few people and I still feel really bad about it.

5 thoughts on “Sentinels of the Multiverse: why you always need a woman in the room

  1. Although I am a devoted Sentinels fan, I definitely agree with all of the problems you have identified with the character designs. There really isn’t much variety in how women are portrayed in the art. The best I can suggest as far as clothing options is Parse (who I think is pretty positive, but I may be missing something):

    http://sentinelsofthemultiverse.com/multiverse/heroes/parse

    However, I do feel that there is a lot of inclusive writing in the game itself.

    At least two of the heroes are openly gay: Tachyon (who is actually married in the later Tactics timeline) and Dr. Medico (one of The Sentinels, who are the Fantastic 4 analogue). Dr. Medico and his partner are even the adoptive parents of fellow hero The Idealist.

    Parse, who I mentioned above, is on the autism spectrum, and her Asperger’s is presented as part of her strength rather than as a disability.

    There are several heroes of color and varied nationality, including Parse, Dr. Medico, The Naturalist, G.I. Bunker (a promo version), Mr. Fixer, and Fanatic. Haka’s writing is a bit problematic, but in most other examples, race and nationality (like gender or sexuality) are consistently presented as mere background details and not as anything particularly remarkable.

    The villains are not as varied as I would like them to be, but I also understand that the writers might want to be careful in that respect. The one example of a non-white villain (who isn’t an alien) I can think of is The Operative, and she is a bit of a stereotype.

    Overall, I would agree that the game’s writing and design could certainly have been improved by having more diversity on the team. But I wanted to acknowledge the steps that this game has taken in creating a broader representation. I do wish that the characters’ visual design were more varied so that the game could be more initially inviting and not require people to look past it to see what’s underneath.

    • So I hear and appreciate where you’re coming from. I can appreciate that there are things to love about this game, and that it seems like the developers really did try. However, none of this invalidates the fact that as someone who doesn’t own the game – my exposure was primarily with what was on the cards and a tiny bit of what was in the rulebook. And the art on the cards made me feel bad. Full stop. It made me remember what I DON’T love about comics and about superheroes, and it made me feel unwelcome.

      All of which is a great lesson for creators in that INTENT DOES NOT MATTER. What matters is how your audience receives your creation. You can have the best of intentions, but if you make work that still contains sexist content those intentions don’t do a thing to change the fact that that content will still hurt people.

      So, you know, it’s good that they at least had their heart in the right place? But as someone who only experiences it as a player, I’m not really all that interested in the intent of the creator when I’m in the moment and playing a new game. The headspace I’m in at that moment is “oh Jesus, yet another superhero thing where the women are all bullshit – great”.

      • Understood. And that’s why I concluded my comments the way I did. That initial impression is critical, and you were clearly put off at that point. That reaction is completely understandable, and it’s why art (and anything else that is up front and obvious) matters.

  2. A “superhero”-type game that I adore which (IMHO) eschews gender stereotypes is “Duel of Ages II,” which I urge you to check out. Brett Murrell, the designer of the game, apparently kept sending the art back whenever the breasts were drawn too big, so the women (and men … and aliens … and unicorn) actually look realistic (and cool). Completely different type of game than Sentinels — you’re on a hex map, you’re having adventures, you’re gettin’ into fights — but you do have cool powers. Highly recommended.

Comments are closed.