And now for something completely silly

[ETA: Hey, folks. So I did a jerk thing – for good reasons, but it was still a jerk thing. I’ve been having a lot of anxiety about a mutual troll that Filamena Young and I both share, so I blocked out her name on the Google+ post that she made that started this whole mess. Which was bad! I shouldn’t have done that! So I’ve fixed that, and linked to the post. But also you should maybe go buy some of her games, because she’s good people and also an amazing game designer. 

So this post requires a little background.

First, earlier in the week people started sharing this (NSFW!!) image: “if males had the same armor as females in RPGs”.

And predictably, people started reporting the photo as obscene. Because a dong-esque, metallic Pringles can codpiece is obscene, but women in RPG art showing the exact same amount of skin are TOTALLY AWSUM!!1!!11!eleventy

I’ll give you a moment to stew in the hypocrisy.

I aaalmost wish I could use this meme more, because his beard is amazing.

Thankfully, because the people in my circles are some cool people, it didn’t take long for people to make some pretty funny responses. Including this thread! Which led to… well… okay, just read the screen cap, okay?

convo

RETALIATORY WANG. Is that not the name of the best punk band in the history of ever? And I found myself compelled – compelled – to draw the cover art of this hypothetical Retaliatory Wang album. Because reasons! And empowerment! And… uh… reasons!

And the idea rattled around in my head for a day or two, but I dithered a bit. I mean, sure it would be funny! …to me. But would anyone else thing so?

And then another thing happened. A female artist friend on the Plus started a thread in which she brought this art (also NSFW!!) to my attention, because she knows how much I hate corpse tits in game art. And almost immediately some male artist, previously unknown to me, jumped in and started complaining that women like us were what was wrong with game art, and you know he’s definitely a feminist, but complaining about gratuitous nipples on a flaming skeletal corpse is, like, the worst. ART IS DEAD. (Yes he literally used the phrase “art is dead”.)

And suddenly, my desire to draw Retaliatory Wang’s album cover assumed new meaning. Now this wasn’t just about conceptual silliness! This was about retaliation! With wangs! I started sketching, and I started a new thread asking people for song title ideas and… well… then this happened:

johnnyramone (1)
Reference used: this photo by Rolling Stone of The Ramones

 

 

And then for some reason I felt it necessary to write more than 400 words explaining why this was a thing that needed to happen. So I blame my brain, okay? And the internet, too. But mostly my brain.

[Thanks to the following for supplying track titles, or portions thereof: Arlene Medder, Ezio Melega, Dymphna, J. Walton, Jonas Richter, and Josh Roby. Thanks also to the people who inspired this trainwreck. You know who you are.]

7 thoughts on “And now for something completely silly

  1. Yet ironically in some new Conan board game that just funded on kickstarter, pretty much everyone’s nearly naked.

    On the off chance I’m ever in a punk band again, I’d totally consider hitting you up for cover art.

  2. Depending on how good their musical performance is (I know, I know, I’m not supposed to apply that criterion to punk) I would probably purchase an album by Retaliatory Wang.

    (Incidentally, the original outfit probably took its inspiration from the various codpieces of tribal groups in Papua New Guinea/Irian Jaya. Of course, to get the full “look”, the model would need a nasal piercing. Mind you, I think I saw the same outfit, sans fluffy hat, in game art for one of the newer Final Fantasy games… the one where they’re trying out armour parity[1]).

    [1] Armour parity is where if an armour design on a female model turns out to resemble two strategically placed sequins, a bit of dental floss and a cork, the male version of same armour does NOT turn out to cover more skin than full plate mail – instead, it’s the same two strategically placed sequins, dental floss, and a toilet roll core.)

Comments are closed.