Friday Freebie: Release the linkage

[Edited to add: The first link is actually a parody account and not Peter Molyneux himself. However, the post is still worth reading!]

Over on his tumblr, Peter Molyneux[1] – creator of the Fable seriesclarifies remarks he made about Nintendo’s decision to disallow same-gender relationships in their quasi-life-simulator, Tomodatchi Life. He responds to the praise of the Fable series for allowing same-gender relationships, and makes the excellent point that from a programming standpoint, an open choice of relationship is the default and hetero-only relationships require adding restrictions to the code. So much for Nintendo’s argument that they only wanted to include “neutral” relationship options.

This is totally relevant to games and feminism. Okay, I lied, it’s not. But it’s been a rough week and if your week has been anything like mine, this will help.

So, as a friend said when she shared the link, this is a thing now. I am so confused.

Oh hey look. According to a report by NDP group, the number of “core gamers” (gamers who play anything but puzzle games or Nintendo games) has fallen from 37.5 million to 34 million this year. Here’s what I think about that.


This story is a fascinating look at the last survivors of the first-ever MMO. (I’d always thought that EverQuest was the first MMO, and I’d never heard of Meridian 59 at all!) On the one hand, I think it’s an interesting look at how toxic communities perpetuate themselves. But on the other hand, I’m super reluctant to crap on other people’s fun. So I’m really not sure what I think about this.

This is a great piece about how in order to change toxic behavior, you actually have to change community standards, not just ban the worst offenders. It’s also super interesting to read about the tactics that Riot Games, publisher of League of Legends, has been using to do just this. My only exposure to LoL is distant and indirect – my brother plays and I’ve watched him play a match or two. It’s nice to see an MMO publisher taking this problem seriously. (Now if only they’d stop with the gender fail wrt female heroes!)

Lastly, just this morning we have this piece by the fantastic Leigh Alexander in which she comes at the idea of the stigma against casual gaming from a very personal angle. I don’t have much to say about it other than you should go read it.

 


 

[1] His tumblr is called “Peter Molydeux”. I’m not sure why he spelled it that way, but I did verify that my spelling was correct.

7 thoughts on “Friday Freebie: Release the linkage

  1. I played Meridian 59 when it first launched in 1996. But back then internet connections were a lot sketchier, making the whole experience more frustrating than fun. I’m amazed that the game is still going after all these years!

  2. Regarding Meridian 59: Free for all non-consensual PvP not necessarily means toxic behaviour. Most gamers enjoy high-stakes playing. Also, by labeling it automatically a ‘toxic community’ just because its not your style of gameplay, you already did, exactly what you didn’t wanted to do.

    • “On the one hand, I think it’s an interesting look at how toxic communities perpetuate themselves. But on the other hand, I’m super reluctant to crap on other people’s fun. So I’m really not sure what I think about this.

      It’s called mixed feelings. People are allowed to have them and often do.

Comments are closed.