Friday Freebie: I got you some linkage

Hi, folks! A brief note before I get started here.

Unfortunately, you’ll probably see my posting schedule slow down somewhat. We’re into the busy season at the day job, which means I’m working harder and longer and don’t have the time to squeeze in all those little bits of writing that I used to. The day job is in the construction product industry, which means demand is directly related to the weather not sucking. As such, it’s hard to anticipate how long the slow spell will last. But if past years are any indicator, I expect that things will start to slow down late August to early September. That doesn’t mean I plan to stop writing entirely! And to make up the deficit, I plan to start posting weekly freebie linkspams to stuff that caught my eye that week or is otherwise worth checking out.

So without any further ado…

In my previous post, I neglected to mention that Atop A Lonely Tower is pay what you want! And it’s available for download on Drive Thru RPG!

A mysterious master of ravens must cope with the perils of her heart when two children come to the magic castle bearing a treasure.

This is a hack of Doomed Pilgrim in the Ruins of the Future by D. Vincent Baker and, like the original game, is intended to be played online. Weave a story with your online friends, who will take the role of your ravens, and see what fate brings to you and the children who have come to the castle.

So if you’re jonesing for a good play-by-post game to play, this is a good place to start!

Game Chef starts TOMORROW! For those unfamiliar with Game Chef, it’s a competition in which contestants use pre-selected “ingredients” (themes) to write a tabletop roleplaying game… in only 9 days. Some really great games have come out of Game Chef in the past, and even if you don’t wind up publishing it’s still a lot of fun!

This seems especially relevant, given that I wrote recently about games that portray Asia and Asian peoples offensively. Over on KickStarter, there’s a brand new campaign for “Maha Yodha: an epic card game based on Hindu Mythology”.

Granted, I was leery when I checked it out at first. But preliminarily, it actually looks really cool. And it’s worth noting that there appears to be heavy involvement by South Asians and it was created and designed by South Asians. (At least judging by the tiny icons and given names.) It looks kind of Netrunner-ish, so if Android Netrunner and its ilk are your thing, maybe check it out.

I don’t really blog about LARP much, but there’s a lot of interesting things happening in the world of freeform LARP. To whit, this new Patreon being launched by Caitlynn Blocker aims to see a regular release of freeform LARP scenarios, which sounds pretty cool.

I wanted to write a post about why Nintendo’s decision not to include same-gender relationships in their new life-simulator, Tomodatchi Life, was incredibly short-sighted in addition to being bigoted, but the wonderful Samantha Allen said everything on the subject that I would have said. Her piece is well worth a read.