Closing down comments

Hi, folks. Wundergeek here.

So remember how I said how I planned on turning this blog into a book? Still true. And how I plan to occasionally blog about my adventures in said transformation? Also true. However, all of that’s going to have to wait until the new year, and there are some changes that can’t really wait until then.

Since I’ve stopped writing new material, I’ve observed that pretty much the only new comments that have come in have been from people who at best could be described as disagreeing with the premise of this blog and at worst could be described as trolls. And while I think it’s insanely amusing that no less than TWO professional industry artists have come here and insulted me AFTER I STOPPED WRITING ABOUT THEM, the fact of the matter is that I don’t really want to have to keep an eye on comments here anymore.

The folks who supported what I was doing here have drifted on to other things, as one might expect, and dealing with nothing but trolls is just tiring. (Although, I’ll admit that Echo Chernik telling me that I have mental health issues and that she pities my sad, rage-filled existence does make me glad I didn’t close down comments earlier. That did give me a lot of laughs. A lot of angry, bile-filled, murderous laughs that gave me no joy AT ALL.)

(Ahem.)

So I’m shutting down comments on all posts older than 2 weeks. For now, that means comments will be dead on pretty much everything. I realize that it means I will be harder to contact, but there’s always email and twitter. And this is something I need to do so that I can continue to free up mental bandwidth for other things.

17 thoughts on “Closing down comments

  1. That’s a pity, wundergeek … as Lenin once said, we need to keep one explaining ’til we get our point across.

    I do understand your frustration, however – there always seem to be more trolls than one has arrows for!

  2. I’m amazed that so many people have managed to get to decent positions in this particular subset of the creative industry with no ability whatsoever to take constructive criticism. You can take comfort, wundergeek, in the fact that they’ll never be able to improve while they stick their fingers in their ears and go “lalalala I can’t hear you” – eventually, they’ll be surpassed by better artists.

    To the artists leaving insults – grow a thicker skin and stop trying to dial the whaaambulance. What are you, 5?

  3. So comments on posts older then 2 weeks will be shut down because nobody but trolls is turning up to comment on them? OK. That is good to know.

    But what about posts that have generated a lot of comments in the past and most of them from serious people who wanted to debate the fine points in the comments page?

    If you have another post with that kind of comment traffic will the lock down time be extended to more than 2 weeks if the debate is still lasting and reasonable after 2 weeks?

    • Ivan, none of the posts that people are still commenting on months and months later are generating positive discussion. Mostly it’s rabid HTK fans commenting on the HTK post and the Blade and Soul post about how I’m an ugly, humorless feminist who doesn’t know anything about art.

      If old posts were still generating something resembling constructive dialogue, I’d leave them open. But they’re not, so I won’t. Frankly, I have better things to do with my time than monitor old posts on the off chance that someone new has found my blog and NEEDS TO TELL ME what a crazy, ugly, feminazi I am.

  4. Now I want to read those artists’ comments cause they sound hilariously entertaining. lol

    Anyway, you did a great job with this site and I will miss it dearly! I follow you on twitter now.😀

    • I nearly always enjoy the comments as much as the actual blog post (on any blog that moderates comments). Often people have interesting things to add. I understand why wundergeek closes comments at this point, but I’d be really disappointed if they were gone forever from this blog.

  5. Wow. I’m shocked that professional artists would do that. One of the first things all professional artists I ever talked to told me: “you must learn to take criticism, end of story.” It’s THE most important skill to learn (and it is a skill, nobody is born with it). To think that there’s professional artists out there that can’t is weird. How did they ever enter any industry like that?! If they had formal education, how did they go through it?! It…it just doesn’t make sense :S

  6. First of all, my first language is not English, so please excuse any grammar fail or misspelling.

    I briefly read some of your older post and this article.
    Be mild and kind with your language, that’s what I’m thinking you should try.:/
    Whatever the commenters say to you,(include anytype of insults) that doesn’t mean you should speak like them. I know it is hard to avoid saying some words(…maybe f-word…?) to response some comments on your blog. However, if you really care about feminists and want to make people have better opinion about feminists, you should act different unlike other people usually do. It may be hard first time, but if you keep in a peace while you’re making conversation any of them, even the anti-feminists will be touched in some days.

    That’s what do I think.
    Hope it will help you or make you peace even a few moment.

    Have a nice day and good luck with your journey for feminists.

    • The problem with this is it is essentially using the “tone” argument – that no one has to listen to me if I allow myself to sound angry or emotional. And that is more than a little privileged. Sexism is something that affects me personally. It makes me angry and emotional, and the demand on the part of some that I not allow that to show through in my writing is pure privilege. My anger is an emotional reality of sexism, and I’m not going to excise that from my writing just to make people more comfortable with my message. If that makes my writing less “useful” or “accessible”, I really don’t care.

      Secondly, I HAVE done that thing where you moderate your tone and use neutral, emotionless language, and the thing is? It doesn’t make any difference AT ALL. The reaction to my points are just as vitriolic, just as dismissive, and just as resistant. Adopting a conciliatory tone doesn’t make people accept the message any more. It just doesn’t.

      So eventually I reached a point where I was done worrying about what other people thought. Sexism is something that harms me emotionally, and I’m done being silent about that harm. I’m just done. If that makes someone else feel bad, then good. Maybe that will make them re-examine their prejudices and try and see things from my point of view. And if it makes them dismiss me, whatever. They would have dismissed what I was saying no matter how nicely I phrased it, so I’m not obligated to care about what they think.

  7. I’ve read through your entire blog, and found it entertaining, educational, and blood-pressure-raising. Thank you for your extremely detailed analysis of everything that is wrong with a particular piece of massive stupidity – how you managed to write each post without having to take high blood pressure medication, I don’t know. You’ve made me much more aware of terminal anatomy failure and objectification/distortion in fantasy art, and for that, I profoundly thank you.

    I also find it freaking hilarious that professional artists are whining about your criticisms of them, since if there’s anything I’ve learned from the internet, it’s that lashing out against critics is the fastest way, bar none, to have one’s name become a target for universal ridicule.

    Good luck in whatever task for which you choose to use that freed mental bandwidth, and I would certainly buy your book if it ever came out. (Selfishly – could you please include diagrams visually demonstrating Everything That Is Wrong With An Image And How To Do It Right in said book if and when you write it? Those diagrams drove home your point to me when all the detailed essays in the world left me shrugging and thinking surely it couldn’t be as bad as the writer made it out to be – for which I, again, thank you.) And once more, just to be redundant – thank you so much for this blog!

  8. Your blog, through your own posts and links to others, shook up my world view. You helped open my eyes to the problems in both our geeky culture, and the North American culture as a whole.
    I’m embarrassed to say that, a year ago, I had no concept of what current feminism is, and what it was fighting for, or that so many battles remained.

    You now have another person for your side of this debate because of your smart, persuasive arguments.

    Thank you for all the good information, and thanks for sharing your point of view, especially in such a hostile environment.

    Thanks for all your hard work.

Comments are closed.