Goodbye, Blogger. Hello, WordPress.

Hi, folks. I got tired of having to constantly watch Blogger’s spam filter and the drama that it sometimes created, so I decided to migrate over here to WordPress. Comment threads have been imported too, so please update your bookmarks accordingly! Comments will stay open on Blogger through the weekend and will close on Monday, just so people don’t have to change their bookmarks for current conversations. After that, I’ll be closing things down completely and this will be GMMaS’s new home.

The comment policy will stay the same. Namely, I don’t delete posts by humans, but that doesn’t mean anyone has to listen to you.

Things might be ugly for a bit, but I’m worrying about functionality before I waste time on making it pretty.

12 thoughts on “Goodbye, Blogger. Hello, WordPress.

  1. Another thing, this blog loads faster than the other one which always gave my pc siezures for some reason🙂

  2. Good call, WordPress is much better. Been enjoying your posts recently but didn’t feel I had anything particularly astute to comment. Keep up the good work! If you ever outgrow the WordPress free hosting or want/need some plugins/themes that aren’t available then I can host a domain for you (as I think what you are doing is awesome).
    You’ve got my email address from the comment if you need it.

  3. Good stuff. I don’t understand why people still use blogger. One suggestion for you is that you could start using Feedburner. This way, if you ever move sites, it’s trivial to update your feed so that people don’t have to resubscribe again. Plus you get to see how many subscribers you have and some nice stats😉

    Btw, your “About” page is still the default.

    • No, you’ll need to use the WordPress RSS feed rather than the Blogger one (which is what I assume you mean). If you mean when using Feedburner then either should work.

  4. Zach: Um… good question? I’ll post an answer here as soon as I know. (Oh, and your comments should show up now. Sorry about that, folks. I didn’t realize comment moderation was the DEFAULT.)

  5. wundergeek, AFAIK blogger allows you to use a different feed for your blog, so you can chuck wordpress’ feed in there.

  6. The RSS is active in Blogger but not in WordPress (I don’t think wordpress allows you to use feedburner natively, I think you can only do this with a self-hosted blog)

    However if you want people to grab your Feedburner link from WordPress as well, I suggest you add a custom link on the sidebar, perhaps with under a big RSS icon😉

  7. With WordPress and Feedburner on a wordpress.com hosted blog it’s going to be hard to remove WordPress’s default RSS so I’d be tempted to not bother.

  8. I have to say, even if you’re still working on the blog itself, WordPress seems a whole lot more advanced than Blogspot — it’s got a rather nice mobile version, and it seems to keep track of the total number of comments much more accurately. And it seems less likely to let our posts get eaten by hamsters, too, which is always a plus. 😉

Comments are closed.