>WTF: The where the hell did my week go? edition

>Holy shit, folks. This week kind of got away from me. I apologize for the radio silence – this week is a week of pure and utter madness. I’ve also been working on some things that require a bit more research to pull together. Next week, things return to normality, so I’ll be returning to a more normal posting schedule.

Some of the stuff you can look forward to is a rant about why Jim Sterling of Destructoid is a despicable human being, a look at recent M:TG art, and, uh… this:

And worse, sadly.Anyhow, I don’t come completely empty-handed. I have some WTF for you, aside from the above.

WTF the first

David Jaffe, the director of the ever female-friendly God of War series, compared the new Sony handheld to a “fresh vagina”. Unsurprisingly, game “journalists” have fallen all over themselves to repeat this in the name of “journalism”, proving once again that game journalists really are incompetent fuckwits.

WTF the second

I’ve heard of several “virtual girlfriend” apps for the iPhone, which… okay. Whatever. A lot of them are based on the popular dating sim genre common in Japanese games. But what I really love is when North American men who don’t even have a cultural excuse to fall back on wax enthusiastic about these games. Like this review of Virtual Girlfriend in which the title image is captioned:

The beauty is, when she starts getting bitchy, you just start over!

/facepalm

WTF the third

NOOOOOO!!! Samus! What have they done to you?? Curse you, internets! Curse yooooouuuuuu!!!So. Okay. I want to point out that the file name of this picture is “waifu1”. For those of you not familiar with Japanese, that’s a Japanese rendering of “wife”. There are many things that I can picture Samus doing. Being a housewife is not one of them.

For more housewife Samus fail, check out these photos here.

17 thoughts on “>WTF: The where the hell did my week go? edition

  1. >That first picture is the first and only thing I need to gesture to when I tell people that I refuse to play Exalted. Even the biggest 'hurr, boobies' guys I know go 'WTF?!' at that camel toe.

  2. >…My first instinct is just to laugh at the Waifu Samus pictures because she is clearly doing them as a joke, but then I have to consider the very real possibility that some people don't understand why it's funny. And… well, "Gazing at Haley for too long may cause them to fall in love." Seriously, Alexander M? Seriously?Also… David Jaffe, everybody. The guy who called Sarah Palin a MILF strikes again For Great Chauvinism! Actually that's not Chauvinism because Chauvanism is at least pretend respect.

  3. >That… first picture.. dear lord. Her clothes (if you can call them that) are basically painted on! This is why I'm so against the idea that it's 'just' about being attracted to women. There's being attracted to women.. and there's being a sicko who only sees women's singular value.. as blow-up doll toys there for fapping pleasure and for some reason feel they need to televise this to the entire rest of the world.There's a reason I get upset at the 'small' objectification, because just accepting it and dismissing it lets it build up into pictures like that.😦 And it gets worse?! I need to go lay down.

  4. >…My first instinct is just to laugh at the Waifu Samus pictures because she is clearly doing them as a joke, but then I have to consider the very real possibility that some people don't understand why it's funny.Yeah, that was my first instinct, too — that the Samus cosplayer was taking a shot at Other M's character derailment or something. The sheer number of pictures makes me question that assessment, though (and the site that posted them definitely doesn't take that angle).

  5. >If Samus were married it would be to some wacky house-husband who interrupts her battles to remind her to bring home milk on her way back from shooting things. There would also be a precocious child, a cranky neighbor and a laugh track. "Oh Samus, you can't escape ALL your problems by rolling into a ball!"

  6. >I was really disappointed with White Wolf (creators of Exalted) for picking that first picture for a game book cover. Exalted is a good RPG otherwise, with a good, varied mix of male and female characters and little of the usual sexist fantasy tropes (both in art and text). It's just one cover of one book, but still… Why?Just a warning. The artist of the picture if Hyung-tae Kim. Don't check out his other work. He's obviously capable of painting reasonably dressed and posed female characters, but he rarely does, it seems.

  7. >I actually have the core rulebook of 2e Exalted… got it from a charity bundle that Drive Thru RPG was doing. That cover does not make me eager to crack it open and use it. <.<If Samus were married it would be to some wacky house-husband who interrupts her battles to remind her to bring home milk on her way back from shooting things.There would also be a precocious child, a cranky neighbor and a laugh track."Oh Samus, you can't escape ALL your problems by rolling into a ball!"YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS……..

  8. >Could be really great & useful to have a companion blog about positive character design. I really liked the posts sections about realistic female armors, the variety of athletic body and Sophitia re-design. It could become a reference site.

  9. >Kaonashi: I'm actually working on some stuff about Hyung Tae Kim, not Exalted. For some reason, the game industry keeps giving him games to spearhead that wind up looking like… well, like that first picture there. I actually have come to hate Hyung Tae Kim more than Wayne Reynolds, surprisingly.

  10. >wundergeek: Not too surprising, actually… at Least Wayne Reynolds' women are anatomically plausible. I'm still just sort of shocked that that image was seen as fit to print on the cover of a game.

  11. >Wow that first picture is 'gender swap' gold right there!If I brought a book with that on the cover to the game table I think there would be too much laughing to get a game in… plus the inevitable questions:"Are women allowed to wear armor in this game?""What kind of AC bonus does that give you?""If I play a wizard do I need to get a bikini wax?"

  12. >The first picture actually made my jaw drop a little. Am I the only one who kind of saw a banana hammock there? Hmm..Also, I can't wait for the M:TG stuffs. I know you've been busy and applaud that you found time for this post!

  13. >Also the article about the iPhone virtual girlfriends? Best quote:One day, when Western civilization has learned to embrace the combination of technology and love, real women may come to realize that a man's affection towards virtual women only proves how loving and attentive he would be in a real relationship.

  14. >I look at that top picture, and I figure she's wearing… ooh, must be body paint to get the nipple detail right. Oh, and an old-style "harness" sanitary napkin, which makes me wonder whether the bloke couldn't have maybe waited another few days and caught the poor girl *after* her period was over? Oh, and it appears while the liposuction on her tummy worked beautifully, she's had the standard after-effect a lot of women get, namely that the adipose deposits in other areas swell to compensate.

Comments are closed.