>Anatomy: YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG (or: Body customization in Perfect World)o

>Perfect World is yet another Asian free-to-play MMO with a freemium subscription model, published by a Chinese game publisher. And the advertising is pretty much what you’d expect from a freemium MMO:

Wow. Passively posed female spellcaster chick in cheesecakey outfit. Yawn. But then you have things like this promotional wallpaper:

Okay, so you have the mascot, who is practically a fetish checklist. Girls with wings, check. Short skirt, check. Boobage, check. Thigh high stockings, check. Whatever, that’s pretty standard. What kind of blows my mind is the stuff they cram into the background. The catgirl with the “come hither” look is pretty standard until you consider the fact that right next to her is Chick With Random O-Face. I mean, what? Random cleavage is one thing, but random orgasms are something else entirely.And then just to make things even more confusing there’s Random Upskirt Tiger in the lower corner. Why is the tiger checking out Fetish Wing Girl’s ass? Why??

Hey, look! Seasonally appropriate cheesecake! They obviously didn’t spend a whole lot of effort on this, since the outfit is mainly just a color swap with some fur trim added, though I’m a bit distrubed by the reindeer antlers. I mean, catgirls are pretty standard, but reindeer girls? Brr.The thing is, none of this really seems at all out of the ordinary. Random orgasms aside, it’s pretty middle-of-the-road as far as cheesecake goes. No, Perfect World earns a special place on my shit list for its body customization options that can result in characters like this:

Holy shit! Not even ridiculous Ivy fanart can compete with those knockers! How is she even standing upright? Are those things full of helium? Surely this has to be some kind of disturbing hack…

Oh god! There’s more of them! I mean, these are so horrific that the bunny girl looks almost normal in comparison, and she’s really, really not. Even better if you click for the larger version you can see that the chick on the left is named “WhoreNi”. Um. Wow. So, evidence points to these characters being played by men…

So what the hell is going on here?

Well, it appears that in Perfect World there are body customization sliders, including – obviously – for breast size and waist size. What’s disturbing about this is that it results in characters that no longer even resemble humans:

The guy who created this character even posted on the official PW forums asking other users to rate his character for attractiveness. When called on the fact that she, uh, kind of looks like a freak show, he responded:

Good point, I think I got carried away with the boob bar.😀

Um. Yeah. Just a bit, dude.

Perhaps an even more disturbing feature is the ability to customize your characters based on a picture, utilized here to creepy effect:

This is all very disturbing and creepy on so many levels. Body customization is not necessarily an evil thing in and of itself. It has the potential to be quite a positive feature, if used to allow for non-idealized body types. The problem here is that Perfect World uses its powers for evil, allowing its users to take it to such extremes that you can generate offensively freakish parodies of humanity, waifish women who resemble nothing so much as poles with two zeppelins tied to them. How any of these women would function in daily life, much less kill things with swords, is beyond me. I mean, just tying your shoes would be a challenge with those titanic ta-tas.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not putting all of the onus on the publishers. Clearly the men creating these characters deserve a fair helping of blame. Any man who would create one of these characters just because they COULD clearly has some pretty skewed views of women. But the publishers of Perfect World are the ones programming the slider in the first place. They’re the ones deciding where to code the limits on breast size, which has equally off-putting implications.

13 thoughts on “>Anatomy: YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG (or: Body customization in Perfect World)o

  1. >Willow: Good question? I did try to find that out, but I wasn't able to find a conclusive answer to the question and I'm not willing to play the game to find out. There's a limit to how much I'm willing to suffer for this blog…

  2. >I played this game a few years ago, and I can tell you that they remade the slider for breast size. The maximum size was disturbing even then, but not as grotesque as the catgirl in white and green. And I don't recall being able to customize the waist size back then. Not going back there though.The barbarian class was the second biggest disappointment. You could look like lion/panda/tiger and a couple of other animals, but your customization was limited to the eye color, and body size. Stupidest part, when you transformed, you transformed into a tiger. Even if you picked a panda.

  3. >These… bust results are either faked, required something more than just the character customization sliders, or are in a different version than the International version that most people outside of Southeast Asia play. You can make some pretty big breasts, but not as huge as the more absurd examples.

  4. >What I also found wrong is that if you play the beast race (what the upskirt tiger is) all the male beast men look like…beast men, while all the women look like the come hither fox.. they look human with ears…

  5. >Yeah the tit size in this game is disturbing. My characters (female playing female characters) have normal sized breasts proportionate for what their body should have.

  6. >Wundergeek, I very much appreciate what you're doing here (by "here," I mean the whole blog) — misogyny in games is a huge horrible hydra, and you're slaying heads with the best of 'em — and I agree with 99% of this post.The 1% I don't agree with goes as follows: quite frankly, my figure is pretty darn close to that of the bunny-eared girl. No, I haven't had any surgical modifications, and yes, my breasts embarrass the heck out of me from time to time. I've more or less adapted to an all-baggy-sweatshirt lifestyle to camouflage the darn things, and to avoid looking like a "dumb slut." I tend to get very self-conscious in summertime, since just about anything that isn't swelteringly hot to wear will "show them off" to some extent. (Let's not even talk about how hard it is to dress "professionally" with them — button-up shirts either look baggy and rumpled or pop at the buttons, and shirts made of stretchy fabrics are either Too Casual or seen as… say it with me!… slutty.) From your other posts, it sounds like you agree with me that it's not okay to pass judgment on anyone based on their body, so my nitpick is more or less: bunny-girl may not be "normal," but she's not "really really not," either. Some of us genuinely look like that, and, well, being called freakish isn't helping.

  7. >Jawnita: Hrm. I guess what led me to include the bunny girl is that, well, she's a bunny girl and I pulled her image from a thread by dudes talking about their hawt female avatars. I realize that women aren't cookie cutters and I'm sorry if I had some splash damage there. I did wind up including her because I felt like the fetish-like nature of her outfit and bunny ears made me believe that she was probably being played by a dude who just wanted a hot chick to look at.

Comments are closed.